Photos: A Visit to Jayhawk Country


001 Allen Fieldhouse Lobby
Inside the entrance to the Allen Fieldhouse (photo – T.Flynn)

LAWRENCE, Kan. (June 27, 2018)  The home of the University of Kansas Jayhawks looks the part, as KU venues and colors run throughout the small city of Lawrence, Kansas (pop. 87,643 – 2010).

Most famous among its athletic venues is the 1955 Allen Fieldhouse, home to the Jayhawks’ basketball program. The men’s basketball team at KU has won or shared the regular season Big-XII title for 14 consecutive seasons and 16 of the last 17 years. The Jayhawks also captured the national championship in 2008, the third time they’ve done so since the NCAA tournament began in 1939.

001 Allen Fieldhouse001 Allen Fieldhouse Seats

Rim Rock Farm is just over 10 miles north of downtown Lawrence and is home to the Kansas cross country program. Former head track and field and cross country coach Bob Timmons donated the property to the University in 2004.

The 1965 and 1966 NCAA Division I National Championships were held at Rim Rock. The only Kansas national championship in men’s cross country came in 1953, when National Track and Field Hall of Famer Wes Santee was a member of the Jayhawks’ squad. Santee was also the individual winner that year.

Rim Rock hosted both the women’s and men’s national championships in 1998. 

001 Rim Rock Farm001 Rim Rock

Although the KU football program has struggled in the last decade, Kansas Memorial Stadium has hosted its fair share of football history since it opened in 1921. To date, the Jayhawks have 12 bowl games on their resumé, with an even 6-6 record. Their biggest win was a 2008 Orange Bowl victory over Virginia Tech. That year they also achieved their highest national ranking ever (#2) and finished the season at #7, the same spot that they finished in 1968.

KU has yet to win a Big-XII title and posted six Big-Eight titles between 1908-1968. The most famous player to come out of a Jayhawks’ huddle is Gale Sayers, who earned All-American honors in 1963 and 1964 and is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame. Sayers played seven seasons for the Chicago Bears and was elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1977 at age 34. He is the youngest inductee in its history. 

001 Memorial Stadium001 Memorial Stadium 2001 KU Football Memorial Stadium