College Baseball: Postseason Moves to Super Regional Round

                      Mississippi State (shown here in the 2013 CWS) is one of 16 remaining teams (Getty Images)

Indianapolis – The NCAA DI baseball postseason pared off three-quarters of the field in its initial round of play and now moves to the Super Regional round. The Super Regionals are a series of eight three-game series hosted by the higher-seeded team. The eight advancing teams will comprise the College World Series field.

Two #3 seeds advanced out of the regionals (Boston College, East Carolina) while the remaining 14 teams were first or second seeds in their opening round series.

The matchups and locations are as follows (rankings indicate the national seeding for the team, if applicable, entering the 64-team tournament):

Friday, June 10
Boston College (34-20) vs. #3 Miami (Fla.) (48-11) – Coral Gables, FL
#5 Texas Tech (45-17) vs. East Carolina (37-21-1) – Lubbock, TX
Arizona (42-21) vs. #6 Mississippi State (44-16) – Starkville, MS
TCU (45-15) vs. #4 Texas A&M (44-16-1) – College Station, TX

Saturday, June 11
Florida State (40-20) vs. #1 Florida (50-13) – Gainesville, FL
Coastal Carolina (47-16) vs. #8 LSU (45-19) – Baton Rouge, LA
UC-Santa Barbara (40-18-1) vs. Louisville (50-12) – Louisville, KY
Oklahoma State (39-20) vs. South Carolina (46-16) – Columbia, SC