College Baseball: NCAA Tournament Begins, Includes Recent Champs

Charlottesville– The NCAA Division I baseball tournament began today and the 2014 and 2015 champions – Vanderbilt and Virginia, respectively – are in the 64-team field. The two faced each other in the the finals of the CWS in both 2014 and 2015.

The Cavaliers host the Charlottesville Regional that includes #2-seeded Bryant, #3 East Carolina,  and #4 William & Mary. In the first game, Virginia (38-20) showed that it’s again a team to be wary of in 2016 as it defeated the CAA’s William & Mary (29-30), 17-4. Starter Alec Bettinger (3-5) got the win for the Cavs.

Vanderbilt hosts #2-seeded UC-Santa Barbara (37-18-1), #3 Washington (32-21) and #4 Xavier (30-28) in the Nashville Regional. In the regional’s only final to date, UC-SB knocked off Washington, 3-2, in 14 innings. 

(All photos used with permission and are copyright Getty Images)