Denver Outlaws Win First MLL Title

Jeremy Sieverts celebrates the game-tying goal (photo / Getty Images)

by Boxer Journal August 23, 2014
Kennesaw, GA – The Denver Outlaws, after making the Major League Lacrosse playoffs for nine straight years, took home their first title on Saturday by defeating the Rochester Rattlers, 12-11.

Lutherville, Maryland native Jeremy Sieverts ran in from midfield and took a soft feed from Zack Greer before burying a two-point score that knotted the game at 11-11 late in the fourth. It was the first tie since the scoreless outset of the game.

Former Terp and Seattle native Drew Snider scored the game-winner from 15 yards out with 56 seconds left.

John Grant, Jr. proved that he still has plenty of life in his 39-year old legs by scoring three goals and adding an assist on attack for the Outlaws. He earned game MVP honors for the effort.

(Note: the above photo is used with permission of Getty Images through their free online service)