Pro Lacrosse: Bayhawks Repeat as MLL Champs

The Chesapeake Bayhawks repeated as MLL Champs on Sunday (Photo / MLL)

The full version of this article appears in today’s Baltimore Post-Examiner

In a game filled with Maryland-area talent, the Chesapeake Bayhawks fended off the upstart Charlotte Hounds, 10-9, on Sunday to win their second straight MLL crown.

On Saturday the Hounds overcame nine goals from rookie attackman Eric Law to defeat the previously undefeated Denver Outlaws, 17-14. Denver entered the game with a 14-0 mark, while Charlotte finished the regular season at an even 7-7. The Bayhawks (11-5) edged Hamilton (9-6), 13-12, on Saturday to gain the final. 
Chesapeake’s Ben Hunt (Photo / MLL)
With flawless weather as a backdrop at Philadelphia’s PPL Park, the Bayhawks relied on veteran John Grant Jr., 39, for four goals and UMBC product Drew Westervelt showed off both his inside and outside shooting talents by adding a hat trick. Grant earned MVP honors for his efforts over the weekend. Recent Maryland graduate Jesse Bernhardt was solid at defensive middie for the Bayhawks, and Adam Rand was tough at the face-off X all day for Chesapeake. 
Loyola grad and Charlotte native Mike Sawyer was outstanding in both the semifinals and final for the Hounds, tallying seven points over two days, and providing a constant perimeter threat. Maryland’s Ryan Young added seven points in the title game for Charlotte while operating expertly from behind goal.